Addressing Different Entry Points into an Orchestral Lesson

Frontpage Forums Orchestra Addressing Different Entry Points into an Orchestral Lesson

This topic contains 7 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  nafmeadmin 4 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

Hello fellow Orchestra Directors,

Let me preface this by saying this is my first year teaching. I am teaching a high school orchestra class, a high school guitar class, a high school show band, a high school vocal music class, 1.5 middle school instrumental classes, .5 middle school vocal class, and 1st and 2nd grades. My middle school classes are going pretty fantastic because they are all starting from scratch. I even feel like my high school vocal music classes and my guitar class are progressing along better than my orchestra class, and my degree is in instrumental music and I am a violin player. My problem is that I am trying to pace my lessons for the middle of the road, but I have two students who have not even played an instrument before in the class and the other students are kind of at an intermediate level. I gave a diagnostic exam of what they know on paper, and I can hear things that I can attempt to fix in the more experienced players to make them better. How do I get the two students that don’t know anything about instrument playing to get up to speed with the rest of the class? I said I will not leave a student behind in my class, and I mean it. However, I am a little stumped. Should I give them related material from the Essential Elements Book One to get them through and jimmy it to fit with what the other students are doing? Help!

nafmeadmin
    Keymaster