Advice for VERY small chorus

Frontpage Forums Choral Advice for VERY small chorus

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

This is my first year teaching (just a few days in), and I’m completely stumped with my chorus. I’m the only music teacher at a very small high school (<300 students). My position is only 50% because enrollment in music classes is so low. Chorus is my smallest class with only FIVE students! I don’t mind so much the fact that it’s small, but these five students have little to no motivation. Even though they signed up for chorus and have all been in chorus for a few years, they don’t seem to want to sing. I have two senior girls who don’t seem to care, and they definitely influence the rest of the group.

I had pulled out the Alleluia Canon (http://www.jwpepper.com/3071099.item#.V9AUovkrLIU) from the limited library of choral music at my disposal. I figured the melody would be easy to learn, and a canon would be a good way to begin working in harmony. I can’t really tell if they’re getting the melody because they sometimes don’t sing when I ask them to. I even tried doing “Row, Row Your Boat” in a round to get started, but they just give up in the middle of it. I think some of it is being self-conscious singing in such a small group, but I just wish they were willing to put in more effort. Also, I don’t know if they aren’t putting in the effort because they don’t like the piece. I may pull out something different to see if that changes, but even doing warmups, they don’t try very hard, so I’m not sure just picking a new piece will fix things.