High School Orchestra

Frontpage Forums Orchestra High School Orchestra

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

Hi there!

I am a music education student at Kent State University with a focus on band. While I am currently taking string methods and have played in the Kent State Orchestra for the past two years (I am a flutist), I feel as though I am more prepared to teach beginning strings rather than high school. I was wondering if someone could provide me some insight on the major differences between teaching beginning orchestra and high school orchestra. Also, what types of warm ups do you incorporate in your ensemble, how often do you have your students sing, and how do you go about choosing repertoire for your ensemble? Also, what are typical issues you see in high school string players’ technique, and how do you address these issues?

Any insight would be much appreciated!

Thanks so much!
    Sammy

nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

Pacing is one of the biggest differences with beginners versus high school. I find that high energy and lots of rote learning get the kids playing. Obviously the students are there to play their instruments. Make sure you instruct less and they play more. Keep your comments clear and concise and repeat play. Here is a sample of how elementary goes: