How to teach orchestra?

Frontpage Forums Orchestra How to teach orchestra?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

I am a middle school choir teacher but will also be taking on the school’s orchestra classes next year. I have had a couple of years of violin lessons, and know the basics of care of instruments, and how to play each. I could use some hints on how to choose literature, what I need to know to teach orchestra, or ideas of where to go for resources. Thanks for the help!

nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

Here are a few NAfME resources on choosing repertoire that may help:

Web article: “Choosing Literature” — http://musiced.nafme.org/interest-areas/orchestral-education/choosing-literature/

Teaching Music article: “Spotlight on Repertoire: Finding Your Musical Oasis,” October 2009

Good Luck!
    Linda Brown
    NAfME Staff

nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

If you can continue your violin lessons that will help a lot! There are a lot of things that you don’t think may be challenging for string players until you’ve tried them yourself, plus the kids generally respect it to see that you are putting effort into what they are doing. Orchestra kids want to know that you want to teach orchestra. Also, familiarize yourself with all of the instruments you’re teaching. If you use a method book, get one out for each instrument and go through it with the instrument, take notes, familiarize yourself with the fingerings. Keep a book or a fingering chart on hand for quick references during class. Find someone in your district or surrounding area that is an experienced string teacher that can help with all of the quick repairs and fixes that comes through experience. BTW, finger tape… 1/8″ auto pin striping tape in the auto parts store… lots of pretty colors!