Junior high appropriate band warm-ups

Frontpage Forums Band Junior high appropriate band warm-ups

Tagged: 

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

Hi!

I’m a second-year teacher doing a massive program rebuild in two rural California school districts, teaching k-8 music. For some crazy reason I said yes to conducting the All-County junior band. I have a pretty exciting selection of grade 2 pieces lined up, but I’m mostly wondering this: What are some good warm-ups to use in this context? My goals for the warm-ups are to get the group used to playing together (and playing with me) as soon as possible, and to focus on creating a beautiful characteristic sound in all dynamic levels.

My program isn’t yet at the level where my junior high kids can play grade 2 stuff, so any input on anything would be super helpful to me. The pieces I’ve chosen are “Fire Dance” by David Shaffer, “A Prehistoric Suite” by Paul Jennings, and an old band arrangement (with E-flat horn parts, yikes!) of Moussorgsky’s “Great Gate of Kiev” arranged by Dale Eymann. I’m especially looking for tips on refining an ensemble sound for an honor group.

Thank you!

Stephanie

nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

Here is what we do grades 6-12 for our warm up. (as the kids get older, the warmup gets more detailed, etc) I will be more than happy to send you pdf’s of our warm up material. Just shoot me an email.

1. Long tones on first five notes of Bb concert scale (not straight up and down, also holding each note for 12 counts or longer)
    2. Lip Slurs (we add more columns of lip slurs as the kids get older)
    3. Major Scales (all 12 by high school)
    4. Chromatic Scale
    5. Chorales (I have PDF’s of the chorales we use…..nice arrangements, and most of them work well for any range of group starting with 8th grade)

Not sure how much you want to dig into scales and such for an honors band with limited rehearsal time, but if you want the info just let me know.