Music for Small Pep Band?

Frontpage Forums Band Music for Small Pep Band?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

I am in my second year at a small school district in a rural area. Of course, as a small rural district, there is a lot of focus on athletics, and I constantly am asked how we can improve our pep band at the school. There are a couple issues that I need to address: 1) Naturally, we have a small band. We only have one tuba, one baritone, one trombone, one tenor sax. 2) A lot of our musicians are also athletes, so often we are missing strong players because they are on the team we are playing for. Our top two trumpets is on the football team and most of our strong woodwinds play volleyball. Basketball season is a nightmare, because it’s a popular sport around here, and the schedule makes it very difficult to ensure that everyone shows up. A lot of the students who are able to play with the pep band are younger players, since they are on B or C squads instead of Varsity and thus are able to be in the band when their games are done.

Based on these issues, I think my efforts are best put towards buying some new music for the pep band. I would like to get some music in which a lot of parts are doubled to make up for the small size of the band, and so that I know the parts will be covered even when I’m missing players who are on the field/court. I would also like it if it was fairly easy and not too high, so that my younger players can actually manage playing it. Are there any charts out there that fit this description? You get extra credit if you can find a publisher or series that specialize in this type of music!