Starting a guitar class… method book, equipment, etc

Frontpage Forums Guitar Starting a guitar class… method book, equipment, etc

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

I’m starting a guitar class at my high school, we’re a small rural school and I’m probably going to have 4-8 kids enrolled in the class. I’m excited at the opportunity (and that I don’t have to teach random other classes) but I’m a beginner at guitar myself. I’ve used an old family copy of Mel Ray’s book 1 to teach myself for a year and done alright, but that is just what i have on hand.  This would be a case of me learning from the book a few weeks ahead of the kids. The school is planning on purchasing a few guitars also.

So… I need suggestions on the following:
    Method Books?
    Instruments?
    other equipment or curricular considerations?

nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

The first thing you need to do is to sign up for the nearest Teaching Guitar Workshop! This is a wonderful way to get started. I don’t care where you have to go, just go! I was a beginner just like you, and the resources I got, including a free guitar, were, and still are, priceless! The instructors are first rate, and the members of the class are very supportive. The chair of the Teaching Wuitar workshop is Glen McCarthy. I believe you can reach him through this forum.He has a post going right now. Good luck! I went to both level 1 and level 2 workshops, and it was well worth my time and effort.

nafmeadmin
    Keymaster

Hi Kurt, Thanks for the kind words. pricem397 you can now sign up for Teaching Guitar Workshops. The link is http://www.guitaredunet.org
    There are also numerous posts from the clinicians, alumni, and other guitar educators on the site.
    You can also find relevant conversation on facebook at Teaching Guitar Workshops.

nafmeadmin
    Keymaster