John Wayman – Bio

John Wayman is the Assistant Professor of Choral Music Education at the University of Texas at Arlington, where he conducts the University Singers and helps guide future choral music educators. Dr. Wayman serves as the NAfME – Texas President Elect. He is in great demand as a conductor, adjudicator, and clinician. Dr. Wayman has appeared at numerous state and regional events as a guest conductor and adjudicator and has given frequent clinics on choral pedagogy for the maturing adolescent voice, and programming and rehearsal strategies for choral music educators. Sunrise Rotary selected Dr. Wayman as the 2019 Professor of the Year Award for the College of Liberal Arts.

His research agenda consists of the following: (1) Pedagogy and development of the adolescent male voice; (2) Teacher preparation and curriculum in music education; and (3) Choral success in urban schools, which aligns with UT Arlington’s strategic plan focusing on sustainable urban communities. As a choral music educator in an urban community, he finds these areas of research are interconnected and provide support for our preservice music education students, the immediate professional community, and the professional community at large.

Dr. Wayman regularly presents at state (New Mexico MEA, Alaska MEA, Texas MEA, Tennessee MEA, and Georgia MEA), national (National Association for Music Educators, Society of Research for Music Education, Society of Music Teacher Educators, Southwestern American Choral Association) and international venues (Greece, Brazil, England, Uganda, China and most recently in Scotland and Ireland).

He has published in the International Journal of Research in Choral Singing, the Journal of Research in Music Education, the Teaching Music, Texas Music Educator Research, Missouri Journal of Research in Music Education, Kansas Music Review, the Ala Breve: Alabama Music Education Journal, and Georgia Music News. Dr. Wayman also serves on the Editor Advisory Board for the national Music Educators Journal.

Return to the NAfME Professional Development Committee page