

# **Core Music Standards Contributors**

### Co-Chairs:

- Scott Shuler, Arts Education specialist in the Connecticut State Department of Education and Past President, National Association for Music Education
- Richard Wells, Simsbury Public Schools (retired) and Music Chair for the Connecticut Common Arts Assessment Project

### Writing Team Members:

- Richard Baker, Louisiana State Department of Education, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
- Bob Cooper, South Kitsap School District, Port Orchard, Washington
- Thomas Dean, Mount Pleasant High School, Newark, Delaware
- Armalyn De La O, California State University-San Bernardino and San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools Office, San Bernardino, California
- Terry Eder, Plano Senior High School, Plano, Texas
- Barbara J. Good, Clark County School District, Las Vegas, Nevada
- Michael Jothen, Towson University, Phoenix, Maryland
- Carolynn A. Lindeman, San Francisco State University, San Francisco, California
- Johanna J. Siebert, Webster Schroeder High School, Webster, New York
- Robyn Swanson, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, Kentucky

### **Music Writing Subcommittees**

- General Music , Grades PreK -2
  - o Johanna Siebert, chair
  - o Tim Adams, Center Elementary School, Ellington Public Schools, CT
  - o Julie Beauregard, Oregon State University
  - o Al Heary, Webster Central School District, NY
  - Denise Ondishko, Riverview Charter School, Beaufort, SC
  - o Jennifer Wetzel-Thomas, Mokena School District #159, Downers Grove IL
  - o Researcher: Wendy Valerio, University of South Carolina
- General Music Grades 3–5
  - o Barbara Good, chair
  - Nyssa Brown, Perpich Center for Arts Education, MN
  - Kay Lehto, Gilbert Elementary School, Clark County School District, NV
  - Sandra Nicolucci, Boston University Music Education Department, MA
  - o Lynn Rechel, Arlington Public Schools, VA
  - Leah Riggs, Silverdale Elementary School, Central Kitsap School District, WA
  - o Rebecca Squire, Saugatuck Elementary School, Westport School District, CT
  - Christine Hayes, Chair Council for General Music Education, Whitewater, WI
  - o Researcher: Denise Odegaard, Fargo, ND
- General Music Grade 6-8
  - o Richard Baker, Robyn Swanson, co-chairs
  - o Jacalyn Beam, Christina School District, DE
  - o Michelle Divine, Whitman Junior High, Warwick, RI
  - o Debra Hopkins, Lincoln Elementary, Silverton, OR
  - Stephen Nystrup, Glastonbury Public Schools, CT
  - o Kim Yannon-Stock, Dodd Middle School, Cheshire, CT
  - o Researcher: Ann Clements, Pennsylvania State University

#### Ensembles

- o Armalyn De La O, Tom Dean, Michael Jothen, co-chairs
- Renata Bratt, Professional Musician, San Francisco, CA
- Sandra Brown, Plymouth Middle School, Plymouth, MN
- Terry Eberhardt, Howard County Public Schools, Ellicott City, MD
- o Windy Fullagar, Alexander Graham Middle School, Charlotte, NC
- o Alan Gumm, Central Michigan University, Mt. Pleasant
- Susie Jones, Mt. Hood Community College, OR
- Mary Wagner, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA
- Researchers:
  - o Al Holcomb, Westminster College, Princeton, NJ
  - o Glenn Nierman, University Nebraska, Lincoln
  - o Bret Smith, Central Washington University
  - Katie Strand, Indiana University
  - o Martin Norgaard, Georgia State University, Atlanta

## Harmonizing Instruments

- o Bob Cooper, Carolynn Lindeman, co-chairs
- o Carol Broos, Gumee, IL
- o Anne Fennel , Vista Academy, CA
- Julie Gragg, Kingman Middle School, AZ
- o Philip Martin, Campbell HS, Litchfield, NH
- Scott Seifried , Fairfax County Public Schools, VA
- Brad Van Patten, Irvine Unified School District, CA
- o Karen Childress-Evans, San Diego Unified School District, CA
- o Ed Duling, Bowling Green, OH
- o Researcher: William Bauer, University of Florida

## Composition /Theory

- o Terry Eder, Tom Dean, co-chairs
- Judd Danby, Jefferson HS, Lafayette, IN
- o Robert Deemer, SUNY, Fredonia, NY
- Michael Levi, College of St. Rose, Albany, NY
- Frank Doyle, Northport HS, Long Island, NY
- Stephen Nystrup, middle school, Glastonbury, CT
- o Researcher: Patricia Riley, University of Vermont, VT

# **Kennedy Center Special Education Review Team (for Inclusion Guidelines)**

- Dr. Jean Crockett, Professor and Director of School of Special Education, Psychology, and Early Childhood Studies, University of Florida
- Dr. Bonnie Billingsley, Professor and Chair, Specialized Education Services, University of North Carolina, Greensboro, NC
- Dr. Marilyn Friend, Professor Emerita of Education, Department of Specialized Education Services
- Dr. Jenny Seham, Director of Teacher Training, National Dance Institute, New York City
- Ms. Pamela Van Gilder, Movement and Dance Specialist, Madonna Learning Center
- Dr. Mary Adamek, Director of Music Therapy and Education, University of Iowa
- Dr. Alice-Ann Darrow, Irvin Cooper Professor of Music Therapy and Music Education, Florida State University
- Dr. Karen Keifer-Boyd, Professor of Art Education, Pennsylvania State University
- Dr. Michelle Kraft, Professor of Art Education, Lubbock Christian University, Lubbock, Texas
- Dr. Sally Bailey, Professor of Theatre and Director of Drama Therapy, Kansas State University

- Dr. Lee Chasen, Director of Social Emotional Learning and Curriculum Development, Kid Esteem Montessori Elementary School
- Dr. Kylie Peppler, Assistant Professor, Learning Sciences, Indiana University
- Ms. Meryl Alper, PhD Student, University of Southern California

### **National Coalition for Core Arts Standards Leadership**

- Michael Blakeslee, Senior Deputy Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer, National Association for Music Education
- Dr. Jane Bonbright, Founding Executive Director Emeritas, National Dance Education Organization
- Richard W. Burrows, National Coalition for Core Arts Standards, Media Arts Committee Co-Chair
- Newark Schools Arts Lead Office of Visual and Performing Arts
- Amy Charleroy, Director of Arts, Office of Academic Initiatives, The College Board
- David Dik, National Executive Director, Young Audiences
- Kristen Engebretsen, Arts Education Program Manager, Americans for the Arts
- Marcie Granahan, Executive Director, American Alliance for Theatre and Education
- Debora Hansen, State Education Agency Directors of Arts Education, Delaware Department of Education
- Dennis Inhulsen, President, National Art Education Association
- Dr. Amy Jensen, Advocacy Director, American Alliance for Theatre and Education
- Kathi Levin, Consultant, National Art Education Association
- Marcia McCaffrey, President, State Education Agency Directors of Arts Education, New Hampshire Department of Education
- Susan McGreevy-Nichols, Executive Director, National Dance Education Organization
- James Palmarini, Director of Educational Policy, Educational Theatre Association
- Pam Paulson, PhD, National Coalition for Core Arts Standards, Media Arts Committee Co-chair
- Jeffrey Poulin, Arts Education Program Coordinator, Americans for the Arts
- Dr. Deborah Reeve, Executive Director, National Art Education Association
- Narric Rome, Vice President of Government Affairs and Arts Education, Americans for the Arts
- Dr. Nancy Rubino, Senior Director, Office of Academic Initiatives, The College Board
- Dr. F. Robert Sabol, Past President, National Art Education Association
- Dr. Scott Shuler, Past President, National Association for Music Education, and Arts Education Consultant, Connecticut State Department of Education
- Lynn Tuttle, Past President, State Education Agency Directors of Arts Education, Arizona Department of Education
- Cory Wilkerson, State Education Agency Directors of Arts Education, Project Manager
- Julie Woffington, Executive Director, Educational Theatre Association