2014 NAfME Electronic Music Composition Contest Winners Announced

NAfME is pleased to announce the following winners of the 2014 Electronic Music Composition Contest –


K-8 Winner: 

Stephanie Chow, Out of the Fray 

Grade 7, Thomas Metcalf Laboratory School, Normal, IL

Dr. Kimberly McCord, teacher


9-12 Winner: 

Kiyoon Ko, Underwater Aria

Grade 11, Montgomery Blair High School, Silver Spring, MD

Michelle Roberts, teacher


Collegiate Winner: 

Janae’ Harris, Zhongguo Yinghua 

Johnson and Wales University, Providence, RI


K-8 Honorable Mention: 

Jackson Data, Off to the Races Chiptune

Grade 7, Horizon Middle School, Bismarck, ND

Randy Salzer, teacher


9-12 Honorable Mention: 

Kristina Dejuri, Seventh Shade

Grade 12, Kings Park High School, Kings Park, NY

Michael Christy and Dr. Daniel Deutsch, teachers



Thanks to our sponsor MusicFirst,  the schools of the winners in each age category will receive a one-year subscription for one teacher (and up to 39 students) to Soundation4Education.


The purpose of the Electronic Music Composition Contest and the Student Composers Competition is to encourage NAfME members to teach composition and to encourage students to compose their own original music.


Visit www.nafme.org to hear past winners of the NAfME Electronic Music Composition Contest.