2014 Student Composers Competition Winners Announced


The National Association for Music Education is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Student Composers Competition. 

The following compositions will be performed on October 27, 2014 at the Young Composers Concert during the NAfME National In-Service Conference in Nashville, Tennessee:


Dax Brockington: Polarity

Grade 10, Enrico Fermi High School, Enfield, CT

Ken Steen, teacher


Daniel Collins: Synthetic Prelude for Piano

Grade 11, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, Aurora, IL

Mary Beth McCarthy, teacher


Max Friedman: Herding Cats

Grade 10, White Station High School, Memphis, TN

Charles Wright, teacher


Christopher Landy: Airplane Food

Grade 12, Bronxville High School, Bronxville, NY

Matt Van Brink, teacher


Grace Ann Lee: Soliloquy

Grade 11, Williamsville East High School, East Amherst, NY

Wayne Moose, teacher


Shuying Li: Farewell, Connecticut!

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI


Nicholas Politi: Thoughts on a Rhapsody

Grade 10, Scarsdale High School, Scarsdale, NY

Matt Van Brink, teacher


Brandon Thibodeau: A Collaborative Conversation

Grade 7, Kearney Middle School, Kearney, MO

Chris Heil, teacher


Jacob Wilkinson: Sonata for Clarinet and Piano

Grade 11, Parkland High School, Allentown, PA

Scott Watson, teacher


Jade Wong: Theme and Variations on a Korean Folk song, Arirang

Grade 3, Talcott Mountain Academy, Avon, CT

Keumok Heo, teacher


Caroline Xiong: The Lonely Fairy

Grade 2, P.S. 188, Queens, NY

Vivian Fang Liu, teacher


The winning composition for band – Altitude, by Vaibhav Mohanty – will be performed by the NAfME All-National Honor Band conducted by Mark Camphouse in the All-National Honor Ensembles concert at the Grand Ole Opry House on Wednesday, October 29 at 10:00 a.m.  Vaibhav Mohanty is a junior at the Academic Magnet High School in North Charleston, SC.  His teacher is Kevin Lakin.


The competition attracted a record 120 entrants this year.  Thanks to the generous support of the European American Musical Alliance, Dr. Philip Lasser, president, and the Double R Foundation, each winner will receive a $150 cash prize.  All entrants will receive written evaluations of their compositions. 


Special thanks to the writers of the composition evaluations:  Rob Deemer, Daniel Deutsch, Mark Filsinger, Lois Veenhoven Guderian, David Hart, Jeff Jordan, Martin Kennedy, Matt Lovell, Paul Siskind, and David Stringham.


Congratulations to all composers and their teachers!