2022 NAfME Elections Results

Results of the 2022 NAfME Elections

Members of the National Association for Music Education: We are pleased to announce the leaders you have elected.

2022 election results

The following are the 2022-24 National President-Elect; North Central Division President-Elect; Southern Division President-Elect; and Western Division President-Elect.


National President-Elect 2022–2024

Deborah A. Confredo

2022-2024 National President-Elect 

Deborah A. Confredo

Deborah A. Confredo is a 42-year veteran music educator. She has taught elementary, middle, and high school instrumental music in New York and Pennsylvania, and has been a music teacher educator at Illinois State University, University of Illinois, and Temple University. She is currently Professor of Music Education and Director of Online Graduate Studies in Music Education at Temple University, and Immediate Past Chair of the NAfME Society for Research in Music Education.

Learn more about Deborah A. Confredo.

North Central Division
President-Elect 202

Kim Bruguier

2022-2024 North Central Division President-Elect 

Kim Bruguier

Kim Bruguier teaches elementary general music and beginning band at LB Williams Elementary in Mitchell, South Dakota. She also directs a middle school show choir and is color guard instructor for the High School Marching Band. Mrs. Bruguier is the director for the Mitchell Area Children’s Choir, is vice president of the Sioux Valley Orff Chapter, is the Immediate Past President and conference manager for the South Dakota Music Education Association and is an adjunct professor in the education department for Dakota Wesleyan University.

Learn more about Kim Bruguier.

Southern Division
President-Elect 202


2022-2024 Southern Division President-Elect 

Susan L. Smith

Susan L. Smith has been an educator for more than 25 years at the elementary through collegiate levels, including general music, choral, band, orchestra, guitar, and educational pedagogy in Florida, Virginia, and Alabama. She has served as an author, clinician, conductor, and adjudicator across the United States and is currently a Lecturer of Music Education and Horn at Troy University. Smith is the current Chair of the NAfME Collegiate Advisory Council, a Past President of the Alabama Music Educators Association, and a former Alabama Bandmasters Association District VI Chairman.

Learn more about Susan L. Smith.

Western Division
President-Elect 202

Michael Stone

2022-2024 Western Division President-Elect 

Michael D. Stone

Michael D. Stone serves as the Visual and Performing Arts Coordinator for the Bakersfield City School District, overseeing arts programs at 33 elementary schools, 5 middle schools, and 3 junior high schools. Prior to assuming this position, he served for more than 14 years as instrumental music teacher at Chipman Junior High School, also in the Bakersfield City School District. Mr. Stone is a Past President of California MEA, CBDA, CMEA Central Section, Kern County Music Educators Association, and is currently the Chair of the NAfME Council of Music Program Leaders, appointed by NAfME President Mackie Spradley.

Learn more about Michael D. Stone.