22 NAfME Members Named 2024 CMA Foundation Music Teachers of Excellence

On May 7, NAfME Music Education Policy Roundtable and corporate member CMA Foundation honored 30 music educators during Teacher Appreciation Week with the 2024 Music Teachers of Excellence Awards. This eighth annual recognition celebrates educators for their commitment and impact on the lives of students and the communities they serve.

YouTube video

“We are immensely proud to celebrate these 30 remarkable music educators as part of our Music Teachers of Excellence program,” said CMA Foundation Executive Director Tiffany Kerns. “These teachers consistently go above and beyond to build inclusive environments in their classrooms and communities, often removing barriers that prevent even just one student from participating in music education. It takes a village, and we are so grateful for our village of amazing Country artists who joined us this morning to recognize these 30 incredible humans.”

The CMA Foundation will honor these music educators during its Music Teachers of Excellence ceremony on Tuesday, September 17, at the Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum in Nashville. Each teacher will receive a $5,000 grant—half of the investment will go toward their classroom needs and music programs, and the other half will support personal expenses.

NAfME congratulates all the recipients of this special recognition. Below are the honored music educators who are members of the National Association for Music Education.* Read the press release to learn about all the music educators named 2024 CMA Foundation Music Teachers of Excellence.

Justin Antos  Dwight D. Eisenhower High School Blue Island IL
Evan Burton  Page Middle School Franklin TN
Vanessa Cobb  Montgomery Central High School Cunningham TN
Johnny Croft  Cane Ridge High School Antioch TN
Charissa Duncanson  Ferndale Lower and Upper Elementary Schools Oak Park MI
Deanna Grandstaff  Cecil Intermediate School McDonald PA
Eric Hanson  Wilson Elementary Coppell TX
Michael Holland Franklin High School Franklin TN
Brent Hopper Lakeland Preparatory School Lakeland TN
Allen Kennedy Hume–Fogg Academic High School Nashville TN
Ollie Liddell  Memphis Central High School Memphis TN
Tyler Merideth  James Lawson High School Nashville TN
Allen Moody  Idlewild Elementary Memphis TN
Linzie Mullins Snowden School Memphis TN
Katiana Nicholson  Columbia Central High School Columbia TN
Samantha Reid  Oliver Middle School Nashville TN
Stephanie San Roman Oswego High School Oswego IL
Laura Shepherd Donelson Middle School Nashville TN
Andrew Smith  Powell High School Powell TN
Sarah Theres  Florosa Elementary School Mary Esther FL
Taylor Walkup-Amos Yorktown Elementary School Yorktown VA
Shoshana Wulf  Martin Luther King Jr. Academic Magnet High School Nashville TN

* This number reflects those whose memberships were current at the time of this announcement and is subject to change.

April 2024 Teaching Music

Published Date

May 8, 2024


  • Music Education Profession
  • NAfME News


May 8, 2024. © National Association for Music Education (NAfME.org)

What does Tri-M mean to you? Tri-M Alumnus Madelynn W.
Messiah University. Learn more. Earn your master's in music conducting or music education. Online. Flexible. Affordable.
New Gator Cases Allegro Series Orchestra Bags