How to Join a Special Research Interest Group

If you’re a current member of NAfME, you may join a SRIG community on NAfME Amplify. Login using your membership record information and search “all communities”for the SRIG(s) in which you are interested. Many SRIGs also maintain Facebook groups you can request to join. Questions? Contact Lisa Mink, Constituency Engagement Manager at lisam@nafme.org.

Adult & Community Music Education

The mission of the Adult & Community Music Education Special Research Interest Group (ACME SRIG) is to promote research that fosters active involvement in the making, creating, and studying of music in the diverse and complex communities in which we live and across the life span through the understanding of the unique learning characteristics of adults.

Chair: Samuel Tsugawa
Brigham Young University
Provo, Utah
savery@ithaca.edu

Affective Response

The purpose of this SRIG is to promote research concerning the ways in which people respond to music. Affective response research includes a variety of focus areas, such as affect, emotion, mood, aesthetics, attitudes, interests, tastes, preferences, appreciation, sensitivity to music, physical responses, and various types of psychological and physiological responses to music, as well as responses related to music teaching and learning.

Chair: Matthew L. Williams
University of Arizona Fred Fox School of Music
Tucson, Arizona
mlwilliams@email.arizona.edu

Chair-Elect: Hyesoo Yoo
Virginia Polytech University School of Performing Arts
Blacksburg, Virginia
haes2000@vt.edu

Assessment

The mission of the Assessment SRIG is to promote dialogue and improve practice related to a broad range of assessment issues pertinent to music education with respect to assessment, measurement, and evaluation. Any NAfME member who has an interest in assessment research and practice is encouraged to join the SRIG.

Chair: Phillip Payne
Kansas State University
Manhattan, Kansas
ppayne@ksu.edu

Chair-Elect: Alden Snell
University or Rochester-Eastman School of Music
Rochester, New York
asnell@esm.rochester.edu

Children with Exceptionalities

Our mission is to promote the understanding of children with exceptionalities and provide opportunities for music educators and researchers to exchange information about and collaborate on strategies for teaching children with disabilities in all areas of music education.

Chair: Julia Heath-Reynolds
School of Music, Indiana State University
Terre Haute, Indiana
Julia.Heath@indstate.edu

Chair-Elect:Annalisa Chang
Clayton State University
Morrow, Georgia
Annalisachang@clayton.edu

Creativity

The Creativity SRIG seeks to clarify and communicate what is known about musical creativities and creative processes through supporting, disseminating and mapping current and emerging research. SRIG members engage in projects in research, conceptual, and pedagogical spaces, seeking the generation of new knowledge with the potential to directly impact the teaching and learning of music as it relates to all manner of creativity for individuals at every stage of the lifespan.

Chair: Dave Stringham
James Madison University-School of Music
Harrisonburg, Virginia
stringda@jmu.edu

Chair-Elect:Dan Healy
Roosevelt University-Chicago College of Performing Arts
Chicago, Illinois
dhealy01@roosevelt.edu

Early Childhood Music

This SRIG encourages individual and collaborative research and its dissemination on topics related to early childhood music education. The EC SRIG sponsors research presentations in conjunction with its business meeting at biennial NAfME Music Research & Teacher Education National Conferences and in partnership with the Early Childhood Music & Movement Association (ECMMA).

Chair: Lisa Koops
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio
lisa.koops@case.edu

Chair-Elect: Christina Svec
Iowa State University
Ames, Iowa
csvec@iastate.edu

Gender and Sexuality

The mission of the Gender and Sexuality SRIG is to provide leadership advocacy, professional contacts, and a strong research agenda for gender researchers in music education.

Chair: Stephen A. Paparo
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, Massachusetts
spaparo@umass.edu

Chair-Elect: Bonnie Jacobi
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, Colorado
csvec@iastate.edu

History

The purpose of the History SRIG is to promote high-quality historical research in music education by facilitating the production, discussion, and dissemination of historical research related to music education and to contribute to unity and understanding within the music education profession by promoting historical awareness.

Chair: Paul D. Sanders
The Ohio State University at Newark
Newark, Ohio
sanders.102@osu.edu

Chair-Elect: Casey Gerber
University of Oklahoma
Norman, Oklahoma
casey.gerber@ou.edu

Instructional Strategies

The purpose of this SRIG is to conduct and disseminate research related to instructional strategies used in the music classroom that positively affect students’ learning experiences. Research conducted in elementary, secondary, and/or university classrooms and rehearsal halls that includes investigation of specific instructional strategies will be discussed.

Chair:Carla Davis Cash
Texas Tech University-School of Music
Lubbock, Texas
carla.d.cash@ttu.edu

Chair-Elect: Ted Hoffman
University of Montevallo
Montevallo, Alabama
ehoffman@montevallo.edu

Learning and Development

The mission of the Learning and Development SRIG is to encourage, promote, and disseminate research and data based information concerning the development and/or maintenance of music skills and knowledge. Music skills are defined as those used in creating, performing, and/or listening to music at any age.

Chair: Laura Stambaugh
Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, Georgia
lstambaugh@georgiasouthern.edu

Chair-Elect: Melissa Grady
University of Kansas
Lawrence, Kansas
mlgrady@ku.edu

Perception and Cognition

This SRIG exposes its members to research and issues in music perception and cognition that furthers our knowledge of how music is experienced and understood. The intent is that this information advances musical pedagogy while revealing various complexities of the musical experience.

Chair: Greg Springer
Florida State University
Tallahassee, Florida
dgspringer@fsu.edu

Chair-Elect: Melissa Brunkan
University of Oregon
Eugene, Oregon
mbrunkan@uoregon.edu

 

 

Philosophy

This SRIG aims to promote the production and dissemination of philosophical research relevant to music education; serve as a clearinghouse for information on scholarly work in the philosophy of music education; apply the tools of philosophical inquiry to improve music education; and encourage younger music education scholars to engage in philosophical inquiry.

Chair: Paul Louth
Youngstown State University
Youngstown, Ohio
jplouth@ysu.edu

Chair-Elect: C. Victor Fung
University of South Florida
Tampa, Florida
fung@usf.edu

Popular Music Education

The mission of the Special Research Interest Group (SRIG) in Popular Music Education is to provide a means of communication, collaboration, and support among the researchers, teachers, and other persons in the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) interested in scholarship on popular music education. The SRIG offers members a newsletter providing relevant news and updates, schedules sessions at biennial NAfME research conferences, and provides a means for joint projects among researchers.

Chair: Gareth Dylan Smith
Boston University
Boston, Massachusetts
gdsmith@bu.edu

Chair-Elect: Jesse Rathgeber
Augustana College
Rock Island, Illinois
jesserathgeber@augustana.edu

Social Justice

This SRIG provides a forum through which members can contribute research leading to greater understanding, inclusivity, equity, and diversity in music education. Research will promote critical review and development of policy, music’s role in shaping societal impact, cultural sensitivity, development of interaction and relationships with music as a conduit, the role of music and music education in conflict resolution, music experiences that affect and shape black and brown lives, and racism and anti-racist pedagogies and policies.

Chair: Amanda Christina Soto
Texas State University
San Marcos, Texas
asoto@txstate.edu

Chair-Elect: Roy Legette
University of Georgia
Athens, Georgia
rlegette@uga.edu

Social Sciences

Social Sciences SRIG members examine structures, dynamics of society, and their impact upon patterns of human behavior and individual life changes. As music education researchers, we study the ways in which the forms of social structure, social categories, and social institutions affect human attitudes, behavior, and actions.

Chair: Jacob Berglin
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo, Michigan
jacob.berglin@wmich.edu

Chair-Elect: Tina Beveridge
George Mason University
Fairfax, Virginia
tbeverid@gmu.edu