Council of Past National Presidents

The Council of Past National Presidents supports NAfME and the profession of music education so that all students may receive a balanced, comprehensive and sequential education in music, which will prepare them for lifelong and informed experiences with music.

Chair 2022-2024:
Kathleen D. Sanz

Council Members and President’s Term Served:

Paul R. Lehman (1984-1986)

Karl J. Glenn (1990-1992)

Carolynn A. Lindeman (1996-1998)

Mel Clayton (2000-2002)

Willie L. Hill, Jr. (2002-2004)

David E. Circle (2004-2006)

Lynn M. Brinckmeyer (2006-2008)

Barbara L. Geer (2008-2010)

Scott C. Shuler (2010-2012)

Nancy Ditmer (2012-2014)

Glenn Nierman (2014-2016)

Denese Odegaard (2016-2018)

Kathleen D. Sanz (2018-2020)

Mackie V. Spradley (2020-2022)

Council Members

Kathleen D. Sanz, chair
January 2024 Teaching Music Magazine box ad
Music Education Advocate Podcast box ad
2024 Biennial Music Research and Teacher Education Conference September 25 to 28