NEW 2014 INDUCTEES: Music Educators Hall of Fame

Three new inductees into the Music Educators Hall of Fame were recognized during the General Session that kicked off the conference on Thursday morning.

Carolynn A. Lindeman, former NAfME president from 1996 to 1998 (then MENC) was inducted by Nancy Ditmer, current NAfME president, before the standing-room only crowd.  She delivered remarks that acknowledged the continuing importance of music education and thanked those in attendance for the honor of receiving such significant recognition.


 Also inducted posthumously were John P. Paynter and Benjamin Jepson.

The Music Educators Hall of Fame recognizes and honors those music educators who, by virtue of their contributions, are of such significant stature that they are considered to be among the most highly regarded professional leaders in American music education.

Their selection is determined by the Hall of Fame Board.  These board members are selected for their broad knowledge of the music education profession, for their ability to analyze the significance of achievements of music educators, and for their general recognition by the profession.


Nelson Duffle, NAfME Digital Communications Manager, April 10, 2014. © National Association for Music Education  (