2018 NAfME Electronic Music Composition Competition

2018 NAfME Electronic Music Composition Competition Winners


Winston Schneider, “Ootheca (The Insect March),” Omaha, Nebraska

  • Teacher, Dr. Ken Meints

Honorable Mention:

Harrison TC Le, “Patriot,” Tampa, Florida

  • Teacher, Amy Callahan

High School

Elijah Croyle, “Rush (MP3 available here),” Snohomish, Washington

  • Teacher, Tadd Morris

Honorable Mention:

Cj Rhen, “After The End,” McMurray, Pennsylvania

  • Teacher, Milton Barney

Kai Xu, “Forcefield,” Foster City, California

  • Teacher, Troy Davis


Sterling Severson, Nemesis,” Jamestown, North Dakota

Honorable Mention: 

Conner Couch, “Mariana,” Powhatan, Virginia


About the Competition

The NAfME Electronic Music Composition Competition recognizes outstanding compositions and highlights the effectiveness of music technology in the school curriculum. Entries will be judged based on their aesthetic quality, use of electronic media, and the power of the composition.

Association member adjudicators will select a winner in each of the following categories:

  1. Grades K-8
  2. Grades 9-12
  3. Collegiate
  • Each entrant must be sponsored by an NAfME member teacher, or be a NAfME Collegiate member in good standing.
  • Compositions should be 5 minutes or less and should either be composed electronically or include electronic instruments (vocal and/or acoustic instruments may be combined with electronic instruments)
  • View Competition Winners from Previous Years

How To Apply

  • The 2018 Electronic Music Composition Competition has concluded. Stay tuned for details regarding next years competition.
  • Questions? Contact: Brendan McAloon

The schools of the winners in each category will receive a one-year subscription to Soundation4Education, courtesy of MusicFirst. 

Soundation4Education is an online sequencing program that runs on Windows or Mac, using the Google Chrome browser, with password protected access for teachers and students. It functions much like any popular sequencing program, allowing manipulation of over 1800 loops, audio editing, recording, mixing, effects and extensive MIDI features. It can be accessed from any computer 24/7, since it is cloud based and browser based.


Have Questions?

Contact: Brendan McAloon