Voting Opens January 14 for NAfME National and Division Elections


The National Association for Music Education (NAFME) is conducting online voting for its next generation of leaders. All Association members are eligible to vote for the 2014–2016 NAfME National President-Elect. Members in three divisions – North Central, Southern, and Western – are also eligible to vote for their 2014–2016 president-elect. Voting for all candidates will close at midnight on Wednesday, February 12, 2014.  

Denese Odegaard and John L. Kuhner are the two candidates for national president. Odegaard is the Fargo (North Dakota) Public Schools’ performing arts specialist. Kuhner is the K–12 music department chairman for the Cheshire (Connecticut) Public Schools.

Kuhner and Odegaard each shared a vision for the Association’s future at NAfME’s National Leadership Assembly which met in June 2013 at Tysons Corner, Virginia. They also answered questions from the delegates.

Visit NAfME’s election page to watch a video of the national presidential candidates, and for photos and biographies of all candidates.

The Division president-elect candidates are:

·     Southern Division:  Andrea Coleman (Mississippi) and Sara Womack (Alabama)

·     Western Division:  Russ Sperling (California) and Paul Watson (Utah)

·     North Central Division:  Judith Bush (Nebraska) and Leyla Sanyer (Wisconsin)

The new officeholders will assume their duties in June, one week prior to the date of the NAfME National Assembly meeting. Glenn E. Nierman takes office as 2014-2016 NAfME National President. 

Nierman, associate director of the University of Nebraska (Lincoln) School of Music, is currently 2012–14 NAfME President-Elect. He is a past president of the NAfME’s North Central Division and of the Nebraska Music Educators Association (NMEA). His public school teaching experience includes work with middle school general music and choir, as well as high school band and orchestra.

Nancy E. Ditmer of Wooster, Ohio, is the current NAfME president.  


Roz Fehr, NAfME managing editor for news, January 3. 2014. © National Association for Music Education (