For Immediate Release

Media Contact:
Catherina Hurlburt or 571-323-3395 

National Association for Music Education Awards Five Collegiate Members and Five Institutions’ Collegiate Chapters
for Excellence and Achievement

RESTON, VA (May 20, 2019) – The National Association for Music Education (NAfME) recognized the NAfME Collegiate Chapters of five schools as “Chapters of Excellence” this spring. These preservice teachers and collegiate chapters will be recognized in Washington, DC, this June at the annual NAfME National Leadership Assembly. The Chapter of Excellence Recognition was developed to encourage chapters to plan and execute successful chapter music programs, professional development projects, recruitment techniques, and service projects. Recognition of excellent projects is conferred annually and is based on activities completed by the chapter between January 1 and December 31st of the year prior.


Jenae Maley of the University of Central Missouri received a NAfME Collegiate Professional Achievement Award in 2018. Photo: Ashlee Wilcox Photography,


The five chapters receiving Chapter of Excellence Recognition for the 2018-2019 school year include:

  • Music Program: New Jersey City University—Jersey City, New Jersey
  • Service: Oklahoma State University—Stillwater, Oklahoma
  • Advocacy: Florida State University—Tallahassee, Florida
  • Recruitment: Nazareth College—Rochester, New York
  • Professional Development: University of Hawai’i— Mānoa, Honolulu, Hawai’i

Five NAfME Collegiate members were also recognized with Professional Achievement Awards. The purpose of the Professional Achievement Award is to recognize individual collegiate members for their commitment and dedication to NAfME and music education. This recognition is given to collegiate members who have served their chapters in an exemplary manner.

Professional Achievement Award recipients for 2018-2019 include:

  • Ben Maynard—Ball State University (Muncie, Indiana)
  • BriAnna Crook—Boise State University (Boise, Idaho)
  • Joshua Bottoms—University of Nevada (Reno, Nevada)
  • Martha Wachulec—Montclair State University (Montclair, New Jersey)
  • Eva Aneshansley—University of Colorado Boulder (Boulder, Colorado)

Additionally, a recipient of the NAfME Professional Achievement Award will receive the Shannon Kelly Kane Scholarship, to be announced this June in Washington, DC. The Shannon Kelly Kane Scholarship was created by Shannon’s family and friends in coordination with NAfME to honor her exemplary life and her love of teaching music. The scholarship award is open to current NAfME Collegiate members, who have been nominated for NAfME Collegiate Professional Achievement Recognition.

Learn about past recipients of the Shannon Kelly Kane Scholarship, NAfME Collegiate Chapter of Excellence Recognition, and NAfME Collegiate Professional Achievement Awards. To learn more about the NAfME Collegiate program, visit


National Association for Music Education, among the world’s largest arts education organizations, is the only association that addresses all aspects of music education. NAfME advocates at the local, state, and national levels; provides resources for teachers, parents, and administrators; hosts professional development events; and offers a variety of opportunities for students and teachers. The Association has supported music educators at all teaching levels for more than a century. With more than 60,000 members teaching millions of students nationwide, the organization is the national voice of music education in the United States.

Follow NAfME on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.


April 2024 Teaching Music
April 2024 Teaching Music
Messiah University. Learn more. Earn your master's in music conducting or music education. Online. Flexible. Affordable.
Gator Cases new Largo series. Image of high school girl sitting next to music cases in front of green lockers.