NFHS “Outstanding Music Educators” of 2024 Include 16 NAfME Members

On January 22, 2024, National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) announced the 2024 NFHS Performing Arts Educator Award recipients, including 22 Outstanding Music Educator Awards. Of the music educators honored, 16 are NAfME members. Congratulations to all the honorees—learn which recipients are NAfME members.*

nfhs logo


Section 1: David LaMorte, Tottenville High School, Staten Island, New York**

Section 3: Jennifer D. Davis, Starkville High School, Starkville, Mississippi

Section 5: Amanda Kaus, Century High School, Rochester, Minnesota

Section 6: Dr. Jason Paulk, Eastern New Mexico University, Portales, New Mexico

Section 7: Marcy May, Davis High School, Ogden, Utah

Section 8: Karen Bohart, Franklin High School, Portland, Oregon

State Recipients:

Cooper Ford, North Brunswick Township High School, New Jersey

Pamela Kinsey, Easton Schools, Maine

Marianna Dadamo, Waterbury Arts Magnet School, Connecticut

Dr. Kimberly Watters, Gordon Central High School, Georgia

Susan Marchant, Pittsburg State University, Kansas

Jana Fox, retired, Missouri

Ryan Stahle, Mitchell High School, South Dakota

Gayla “Jeanine” Gully, retired, Oklahoma

Danh T. Pham, Washington Interscholastic Activities Association, Washington

Ron Curtis, Ridgevue High School, Idaho

* This number reflects those whose memberships were current at the time of this announcement and is subject to change.

** NAfME member David LaMorte passed away in December 2023. NAfME extends our deepest condolences to the family and school community.

April 2024 Teaching Music

Published Date

January 22, 2024


  • NAfME News


January 22, 2024. © National Association for Music Education (

April 2024 Teaching Music
Messiah University. Learn more. Earn your master's in music conducting or music education. Online. Flexible. Affordable.
Gator Cases new Largo series. Image of high school girl sitting next to music cases in front of green lockers.