Eight of Ten GRAMMY Music Educator Finalists for 2019 Are NAfME Members

Eight of Ten GRAMMY Music Educator Finalists for 2019
Are NAfME Members


NAfME member Jeffery Redding has been named the winner of the 2019 GRAMMY Music Educator Award™. Congratulations!

Edited February 15 to add one more member.

The Recording Academy and the GRAMMY Museum® announced ten finalists for the 2019 GRAMMY Music Educator Award™, and eight of the ten are members of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME)*. More than 2,800 initial nominations were submitted from across the country — from public to private school educators, from general music teachers to band directors, choral conductors, string teachers, and college professors. NAfME congratulates each and every one of these talented, dedicated music educators. 

educator award

Here are this year’s finalists. NAfME members are highlighted in bold.

Jeremy Bradstreet

Dublin Coffman High School

Dublin, Ohio

Victor de los Santos

Santa Ana High School

Santa Ana, California

Elizabeth Hering

Churchill High School

Canton, Michigan

Henry Miller

Sierra Vista Middle School

Lake Forest, California

Amy Rangel

Glendale High School

Burbank, California

Jeffery Redding

West Orange High School

Orlando, Florida

Scott Sheehan

Hollidaysburg Area Senior High School

Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania

Mickey Smith Jr.

Maplewood Middle School

Sulphur, Louisiana

Craig Snyder

Penncrest High School

Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania

John Weatherspoon

Lake Worth Community High School

West Palm Beach, Florida


The 2019 GRAMMY Music Educator, selected out of the ten finalists, will be flown out to New York to attend the 61st Annual GRAMMY Awards, and attend various GRAMMY Week events, and take home a $10,000 prize. The nine additional finalists will each receive a $1,000 honorarium; the schools of all ten finalists will receive matching grants.

Read a list of the quarterfinalists featuring NAfME members.


The honorariums and grants provided to the finalists and schools are made possible through the Ford Motor Company Fund.

All five of the previous GRAMMY Music Educator honorees, Kent KnappenbergerJared CassedyPhillip RiggsKeith Hancock, and Melissa Salguero are NAfME members.

Learn more about the Music Educator AwardTM process.


Nominations for the 2020 Music Educator Award are open for both teachers, students, and the public to nominate a music educator that inspires them today. Nominate a teacher by March 15, 2019.


Best of luck to NAfME’s finalists! 

* This number reflects those whose memberships were current at the time of this announcement and is subject to change.

Did this blog spur new ideas for your music program? Share them on Amplify! Interested in reprinting this article? Please review the reprint guidelines.

The National Association for Music Education (NAfME) provides a number of forums for the sharing of information and opinion, including blogs and postings on our website, articles and columns in our magazines and journals, and postings to our Amplify member portal. Unless specifically noted, the views expressed in these media do not necessarily represent the policy or views of the Association, its officers, or its employees.

Catherina Hurlburt, Marketing Communications Manager. December 13, 2018. © National Association for Music Education (NAfME.org)