More Than Half of the 2019 GRAMMY Semifinalists Are NAfME Members


More Than Half of the 2019 GRAMMY Semifinalists
Are NAfME Members


This week, the GRAMMY Museum® announced its 25 semifinalists for the 2019 GRAMMY Music Educator Award™. More than 2,800 initial nominations were submitted from all 50 states; semifinalists were selected from 25 cities across 16 states. NAfME is delighted to announce that 15 of the 25 GRAMMY semifinalists are active members of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME). From band and orchestra directors to choral conductors and elementary school general music teachers, NAfME congratulates each of these inspiring, dedicated, and driven music educators.

educator award

The GRAMMY Music Educator Award was first introduced to highlight the meaningful work done daily by thousands of music educators across the United States, from kindergarten to college, from public to private schools. Teachers honored with this award have made clear contributions to music education, and have committed to the cause of preserving and maintaining music education in schools. The award is a partnership and joint presentation of The Recording AcademyTM and the GRAMMY Museum.

Here are this year’s semifinalists. NAfME Members are highlighted in bold.

Michael Antmann

Freedom High School

Clermont, Florida

Jeff Ball

The Grand Street Campus High Schools

Brooklyn, New York

Deanna Bell

Vestavia Hills Elementary East

Irondale, Alabama

Jeremy Bradstreet

Dublin Coffman High School

Dublin, Ohio

John Burn

Homestead High School

San Jose, California

Victor de los Santos

Santa Ana High School

Santa Ana, California

David Dehner

Cornerstone Christian Schools

San Antonio, Texas

Elizabeth Hering

Churchill High School

Canton, Michigan

Paul Holzen

Parkway Central Middle School

Dardenne Prairie, Missouri

Brandi Jason

Liberty High School

Sykesville, Maryland

Gary Meggs

Arkansas High School

Texarkana, Arkansas

Henry Miller

Sierra Vista Middle School

Lake Forest, California

Brian Querry

Charles A. Huston Middle School

North Apollo, Pennsylvania

Michael Raiber

Oklahoma City University

Norman, Oklahoma

Amy Rangel

Glendale High School

Burbank, California

Jeffery Redding

West Orange High School

Orlando, Florida

Joshua Shaw

Coronado High School

Lubbock, Texas

Scott Sheehan

Hollidaysburg Area Senior High School

Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania

Mickey Smith Jr.

Maplewood Middle School

Sulphur, Louisiana

Craig Snyder

Penncrest High School

Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania

Sarah Todd

Mary Lyon Elementary School

Chicago, Illinois

Matthew Trevino

Roan Forest Elementary

San Antonio, Texas

Helen Walker

Doby’s Mill Elementary

Camden, South Carolina

John Weatherspoon

Lake Worth Community High School

West Palm Beach, Florida

Heath Wolf

Farmington Junior High

Kaysville, Utah


The ten finalists will be announced in December

The 2019 GRAMMY Music Educator, selected out of the ten finalists, will be flown out to Los Angeles to attend the 61st Annual GRAMMY Awards on February 10, 2019, and attend various GRAMMY week events. The nine additional finalists will each receive a $1,000 honorarium; the schools of all ten finalists will receive matching grants.

Fifteen semifinalists will also receive a $500 honorarium with matching school grants. Read a list of the quarterfinalists featuring NAfME members.

The honorariums and grants provided to the finalists and schools are made possible through the support of the GRAMMY Museum’s Education Champion Ford Motor Company Fund. Outreach for this program has been assisted by the American Choral Directors Association, National Association for Music Education, NAMM Foundation, and National Education Association.

All five of the previous GRAMMY Music Educator honorees—Kent KnappenbergerJared CassedyPhillip Riggs, Keith Hancock, and Melissa Salguero—are NAfME members.

More information about the GRAMMY Educator Award is available hereNominations for the 2020 Music Educator Award are open for both teachers, students, and the public to nominate a music educator that inspires them today. Best wishes to the semifinalists! 


The National Association for Music Education (NAfME) provides a number of forums for the sharing of information and opinion, including blogs and postings on our website, articles and columns in our magazines and journals, and postings to our Amplify member portal. Unless specifically noted, the views expressed in these media do not necessarily represent the policy or views of the Association, its officers, or its employees.

Catherina Hurlburt, Marketing Communications Manager. October 11, 2018. © National Association for Music Education (