FAME Awards and Partnership of Professionals Awards

Beginning in 1997, FAME and Partnership of Professionals Awards have been presented at MENC’s annual FAME Dinner. FAME Awards acknowledge a national positive influence on the role of music education, or an outstanding contribution to the importance of music education. Partnership of Professionals Awards recognize a partnership with NAfME that has furthered the cause of music education in tangible ways.


For more information, contact Susan Lambert at susanl@nafme.org


March 13, 1997: Hon. Richard W. Riley, U.S. Secretary of Education; The Canadian Brass 

March 12, 1998: John Sykes, Pres., VH1; Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT); Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT); The Canadian Brass; U.S. Military Bands 

March 11, 1999: Shari Lewis (posthumously); Bob McGrath; The Public Broadcasting Service 

March 7, 2000: Dave Brubeck; Dr. Billy Taylor; NAMM: The International Music Products Association (Larry Linkin, President & CEO) 

March 15, 2001: Rep. David R. Obey (D-WI); Maestro Leonard Slatkin; National School Boards Association; Pepsi-Cola Company; Texaco Foundation; Walt Disney Entertainment 

March 6, 2002: Michael Kamen; Chely Wright; Rep. John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI); Mr. Holland’s Opus Foundation; Toyota Motor Sales/USA 

March 6, 2003: Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA); Charles Strouse Oscar Mayer Foods; Gibson Guitar/Baldwin Piano 

March 4, 2004: The Hon. Robert L. Ehrlich; Christopher Cerf Hershey Foods, Inc.;

March 10, 2005: Tom Chapin; DaimlerChrysler and the Jeep® brand 

March 9, 2006: Mrs. Laura Bush; The Oak Ridge Boys; Elmo from Sesame Street; Conn-Selmer, Inc.; The History Channel