Press Release – 2006 Lowell Mason Fellows

MENC: The National Association for Music Education Announces the 2006 Lowell Mason Fellows

Distinguished Individuals are Recipients of Prestigious Honor Named for Founder of American Music Education

RESTON, VA (April 9, 2007) — MENC: The National Association for Music Education announced the individuals designated Lowell Mason Fellows for 2006. This honor, named after Lowell Mason (1792-1872), who is credited with introducing music instruction to American public schools and establishing teacher training in music education, is bestowed upon outstanding music educators or advocates. The 2006 Fellows will be formally recognized in a ceremony at MENC’s Centennial Congress and Celebration, June 25 in Orlando, FL. They are:

FRAN PAGE, Professor of Music and Coordinator of Music Education, Meredith College; designated by Capital City Girls Choir.
BERT NELSON, Executive Administrator, NYSSMA (New York State Schools Music Association); designated by NYSSMA.
DAVID WELLS, Director of Athletic Bands, Boise State University; designated by Walt Lovell.
LUIS HAZA, Conductor, American Youth Philharmonic Orchestra; designated by Tom Lee, American Federation of Musicians.
FRANK TRACZ, Professor of Music and Director of Bands, Kansas State University; designated by Jon Wefald, Pat Bosco, Stephen White, Anthony Pursell, and Jana Fallin of Kansas State University; Larry Blocher, Troy University; and Jay W. Gilbert, Doane College.
JOHN LARRIEU, Executive Director, CMEA: The California Association for Music Education; designated by Robert Klevan on behalf of all eight sections of CMEA.
DAVID MARMEL, President and Executive Producer, Marmel Entertainment and Mrs. America, Inc.; designated by 50 state directors of Mrs. America, Inc.
LEON BURTON, Professor Music Education (retired), University of Hawaii; designated by Ruth Ann Knapp, Teresa McCreary, Barbara McLain, and Jane Hughes.
JAMES “JIM” MOORE, Consultant, Marian Catholic High School; designated by Bobby Lambert and Marian Catholic High School
GREG BIMM, Director of Bands, Marian Catholic High School; designated by Bobby Lambert and Marian Catholic High School.

Lowell Mason Fellows are individuals who have furthered MENC: The National Association for Music Education’s mission of ensuring accessibility to music education for all. Music educators, music education advocates, political leaders, and key decision makers are eligible for designation. The names of the Fellows are permanently displayed at MENC headquarters in Reston, VA.

“This honor and recognition is one of the highest awards MENC can bestow on individuals who have made significant contributions to music education in our nation,” said Lynn Brinckmeyer, president of MENC. “Their names may not be well known outside the world of music education but their dedication to and accomplishments in music have benefited thousands of students.”

For more information, call MENC at 1-800-336-3768 or visit

MENC: The National Association for Music Education, the world’s largest arts education organization, is the only association that addresses all aspects of music education. More than 130,000 members represent all levels of teaching from preschool to graduate school. Since 1907, MENC has worked to ensure that every student has access to a well-balanced, comprehensive, and high-quality program of music instruction taught by qualified teachers. MENC’s activities and resources have been largely responsible for the establishment of music education as a profession, for the promotion and guidance of music study as an integral part of the school curriculum, and for the development of the National Standards for Arts Education.