NAfME Equity Committee


Mackie Spradley, chair

The purpose of the Equity Committee is to ensure that the prioritization of diversity, equity, inclusion and access spans all facet of the work NAfME members conducts and reinforce the importance of creating equity-based systemic change in how the association functions.

View Equity Committee Policy (page 52)

Mackie Spradley Portrait

Mackie V. Spradley

Dr. Mackie V. Spradley is the Immediate Past President of the National Association for Music Education and serves as the Director of Curriculum Programs at the Texas Education Agency in…

Committee Members

Mackie Spradley (Chair)
Director of Curriculum Programs
Texas Education Agency
Austin, TX
Joseph Abramo 
Associate Professor of Music Education
Neag School of Education, University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT
Cecil Adderley 
Chair, Music Education Department, Professor
Berklee College of Music
Boston, MA
Angelica Brooks 
Adjunct Faculty
University of Maryland Baltimore County
Baltimore, MD
Armalyn De La O
Regional Director
The California Arts Project
Kendra Friar
Music Teacher
Bonny Slope Elementary
Portland, OR
Dr. Roque Diaz
Senior Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI)
MacPhail Center for Music
Minneapolis, MN
Dr. Lenora Helm Hammonds
Interim Department Chair and Director of Graduate Programs/Jazz
North Carolina Central University
Durham, NC
Laurie Fellenz
Executive Director
Wisconsin Music Educators Association & Wisconsin School Music Association
Waunakee, WI
Russ Sperling
Director of Visual and Performing Arts
San Diego Unified School District
San Diego, CA
Aida Soria
Director of Orchestras at Norris Middle School
Norris Middle School
Omaha, NE
Johnathan Hamiel
K-12 Arts Education Coordinator
Chapel-Hill Carrboro City Schools
Chapel Hill-Carrboro City, NC
Jared Cassedy
K-12 Performing Arts Coordinator
Lexington Public Schools
Lexington, MA
Karen Salvador
Associate Professor and Chair of Music Education
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI
William Earvin
Educational Support Manager (SE) and Director of HBCU Collective
Conn Selmer, Inc.
Elkhart, IN
Alice Hammel
Graduate Faculty
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA
Advertisement: Belmont University in Nashville, TN offers undergraduate and graduate programs that spark creativity an career readiness. Click to learn more.
Advertisement: Disney Imagination Campus. Performing Arts Experiences for Students. Click to Learn More.
Advertisement: Become a member of NAfME today. Click to learn more.