Council for Band Education

Connect with NAfME Council for Band Education on Facebook


Martha D. O’Neill (2018-2020 and 2020-2022)
Reno, NV

Martha Damon O’Neill currently serves as the Concert Band director at Truckee Meadows Community College (TMCC). She retired from Washoe County School District, Reno, Nevada in 2013 after a 30 year career teaching secondary band, jazz band, and choir and serving as the Professional Development for Arts Educators (PDAE) grant coordinator from 2009 – 2013.

She has done extensive work developing standards-based music curriculum, assessments, and grading for WCSD in Nevada. In 2003 she was named one of School Band and Orchestra magazine’s “50 Directors Who Make a Difference”.  Martha serves as a band and flute clinician and band, orchestra and woodwind adjudicator in Nevada and California as well as guest-conducting honor bands and presenting music education-related sessions at music and other arts conferences throughout the west. 

Martha received a BS in Music Education from the University of New Hampshire and an MM in Music Education from the University of Idaho. She received National Board Professional Teacher Certification in 2007. Martha is Past President of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) Western Division and Past President of the Nevada Music Educators Association (NMEA). She currently serves as NAfME National Band Council Chair and the NMEA Advocacy Chair.


Eastern Division Representative
Caitlin Ramsey (2020-2022)
Portland, ME

North Central Division Representative
Wendy Higdon (2021-2023)
Carmel, IN

Northwest Division Representative
Stephen Pickard (2020-2022)
Puyallup, WA

Southern Division Representative
Richard Holmes (2021-2023)
Dallas, NC

Southwestern Division Representative
Damian Johnson (2020-2022)
Eudora, KS

Western Division Representative
Norman Dea (2021-2023)
Walnut Creek, CA

Matthew Arau (2021-2022)
Appleton, WI

To be selected June 2021

Terms begin on July 1 and end on June 30 of the years noted above.