SMTE Executive Committee



Linda C. Thornton is Professor of Music Education in The Pennsylvania State University School of Music where she teaches courses in band methods, reflective inquiry, psychology of music, assessment and guides graduate research. An active researcher and clinician, Thornton has conducted bands, given clinics and presented research nationally and internationally.  She has published articles in journals such as the Bulletin for the Council of Music Education, Journal of Music Teacher Education, Update: Applications of Research in Music Education, and Contributions to Music Education and has contributed to several books, including Musicianship: Composing in Band and Orchestra (GIA) and Alternative Approaches to Music Education (Rowman and Littlefield).

Her primary areas of interest include reflective pedagogy, creativity development and pedagogy for instrumentalists, music teacher recruitment, and teacher development.  In addition to serving as chair for the Society for Music Teacher Education, she is also the research coordinator for the Eastern Division of NAfME, on the research committee for PMEA, is currently serving as undergraduate coordinator for the music education area at Penn State and is also a  review board member of Research in Music Education. In addition to her membership in National Association for Music Education (NAfME),  she has held memberships with the College Music Society (CMS), and the North American Saxophone Alliance (NASA).


Society for Music Teacher Education™ (SMTE) Executive Committee

Linda Thornton (2018-2020)
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA
Eastern Division
Kimberly Councill (2016-2022)
Bucknell University
Lewisburg, PA
 North Central Division
Nathan Kruse (2018-2024)
Case Western University
Cleveland, OH
 Northwest Division
Crystal Sieger (2016-2022)
University of Wyoming
Laramie, WY
 Southern Division
Jennifer Walter (2014-2020)
University of North Carolina
Greensboro, NC
 Southwestern Division
Sean Powell (2014-2020)
University of North Texas
Denton, TX

 Western Division 
Brittany May (2018-2024)
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT

 Immediate Past Chair (2018-2020)
Constance McKoy
University of  North Carolina
Greensboro, NC
Symposium Chair
Brett Nolker (2016-2022)
University of North Carolina
Greensboro, NC
 Communications Chair
Jay Dorfman (2018-2022)
Kent State University
Kent, OH
ASPA Coordinator
Tami Draves (2016-2022)
University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ
NAfME National Executive Board Liaison: Denese Odegaard