SRME Executive Committee


Wendy Sims is the Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professor and Director of Music Education at the University of Missouri in Columbia, MO. She received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in music education from Kent State University, and the doctorate in music education from Florida State University. A specialist in early childhood and elementary music education, teacher preparation, and research, she teaches a variety of undergraduate and graduate music education courses, advises bachelor and master’s degree students, and supervises doctoral student programs and research.

Dr. Sims is an active researcher and writer, with numerous articles appearing in national and international journals, and a long record of presentations of research sessions and workshops at state, national and international conferences. She is a past editor of the Journal of Research in Music Education and serves on the Editorial Board of the International Society for Music Education. Dr. Sims is chair of the Society for Research in Music Education Executive Committee, serves as the Research Chair for the Missouri Music Educators Association, and has been an active leader within the International Society for Music Education (ISME). She is the recipient of several prestigious teaching and research awards, including the Kemper Fellowship for Excellence in Teaching, Missouri Governor’s Award for Teaching Excellence, the NAfME Senior Researcher Award, and ISME Honorary Life Membership.


Society for Research in Music Education™ (SRME) Executive Committee

Wendy Sims, Chair (2023-2024)
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO

Carlos R. Abril, Immediate Past-Chair
University of Miami
Frost School of Music
Coral Gables, FL

Beatriz Ilari (2024)
University of Southern California
Thornton School of Music
Los Angeles, CA

Christopher Johnson (2022)
University of Kansas
School of Music
Lawrence, KS

Evelyn Orman (2024)
University of North Carolina 
Dept of Music
Charlotte, NC

Carl Hancock (2026)
University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa, AL

Mike Hewitt for the University of Maryland School of Music. Photo by David Andrews

Michael Hewitt (2022)
University of Maryland
School of Music
College Park, MD

Phil Hash (2026)
Illinois State University
Normal, IL

Ruth Brittin (2026)
University of the Pacific
Stockton, CA

National Executive Board Liaison: Karen Salvador