The work of the Music Teacher Profession Initiative (MTPI), begun in January 2021, has brought attention to the importance of music teacher education as a primary responsibility of the National Association for Music Education. While the initial task was to illuminate specific issues concerning equity along with music teacher recruitment and retention at this moment in time, it became clear that the work should be a continuing and systematic focus for NAfME, perpetuated in an advisory committee.

Policy Statement

The Music Teacher Profession (MTP) Advisory Committee shall serve in furtherance of the mitigation objectives laid out in the MTPI Blueprint for Strengthening the Music Teacher Profession and in furtherance of the mission, vision, belief, and goals of the NAfME Strategic Plan.


Cecil Adderley & Carlos Abril, Co-Chairs

Committee Members

Cecil Adderley, Co-Chair
NAfME President-Elect
Berklee College of Music
Boston, Massachusetts
Carlos Abril, Co-Chair
Associate Dean and Professor
University of Miami Frost School of Music
Coral Gables, Florida
Bryan Powell
Associate Professor of Music Education and Music Technology
Montclair State University
Montclair, New Jersey
Robert L. Bryant III
Associate Professor, Music Education Program Coordinator
Tennessee State University
Nashville, Tennessee
Alice Hammel
Graduate Faculty
James Madison University
Richmond, Virginia
Alex K. Gittelman
Band Director/Music Teacher
Haverford Township School District
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Ann Marie Stanley
Director and Professor of Music
Penn State School of Music
University Park, Pennsylvania
Phillip Hash
Professor of Music Education 
 Illinois State University 
Normal, Illinois 
Ron Gerhardstein
Associate Professor of Music Education / Associate Director of Bands
Pacific Lutheran University
Tacoma, Washington
Colleen Conway
Professor of Music Education
The University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Tiger Robison
Associate Professor, Music Education
University of Wyoming
Laramie, Wyoming
Rob Lyda
General Music Teacher
Auburn City Schools
Auburn, Alabama
Steve Kelly
Professor, Music Education
College of Music, Florida State University
Tallahassee, Florida
Roy Legette
Chair of Music Education
University of Georgia
Athens, Georgia
Ramon L. Jackson
Assistant Chair and Assistant Professor of Music
Jackson State University
Jackson, Mississippi
Jasmine Todd Faulkner
K-12 Modern Band Teacher
Polaris Expeditionary Learning School, Poudre School District
Fort Collins, Colorado
Tanya R. Allen
Associate Professor of Music Education
Texas Southern University
Houston, Texas
Wendy Sims
Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professor and Director of Music Education
University of Missouri
Columbia, Missouri
Jared Rawlings
Director and Professor of Music Education
University of Missouri, School of Music
Columbia, Missouri
Michael Stone
Visual and Performing Arts Coordinator
Bakersfield City School District
Bakersfield, California
Erin N. Bailey
Assistant Professor of Music Education
Brigham Young University
Provo, Utah
Joshua Palkki
Assistant Professor of Music Learning and Teaching/Choral Conducting and Associate Director of Choral Activities
Arizona State University
Tempe, Arizona
Kelly A. Parkes
College of Music, Music Education Department
University of Colorado, Boulder
Boulder, Colorado
Antoine Dolberry
Music Educator/Chorus Director
P.S. 103 Hector Fontanez School
Bronx, New York
Shane Calquhoun
Assistant Professor of Music Technology and Contemporary Music Styles
Alabama State University
Montgomery, Alabama
Andrew Glenn
Director of Music
Estrella Foothills High School
Goodyear, Arizona
Ethan M. Chessin
Camas High School
Camas, Washington
Karen Salvador
Associate Professor and Chair of Music Education
 Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan
Amir Jones
Instrumental Music Teacher 
Thomas W. Harvey High School
Painesville, Ohio
Zachary Hunter Giddings
Band Director
Ecker Hill Middle School
Park City, Utah
Sonya Hope White
President & Executive Director
Sankofa Songs
Boston, Massachusetts
Cameron W. Jenkins
Full Potential Leadership - CEO
William Carey University - Doctoral Student
Gulfport, Mississippi
John O'Neal
Chair, Department of Performing Arts Associate Professor of Music – Percussion and Jazz Studies
Fort Lewis College
Durango, Colorado
Amanda Karhuse, Staff Liaison
Assistant Executive Director, Advocacy and Public Policy
What does Tri-M mean to you? Tri-M Alumnus Madelynn W.
Messiah University. Learn more. Earn your master's in music conducting or music education. Online. Flexible. Affordable.
New Gator Cases Allegro Series Orchestra Bags