Tri-Chairs: Sonja Williams, Martha Gabel, and Michael Stone

The scope of the NAfME Professional Learning and Partnerships Committee (PLPC) is as follows: regular updates to the National President/Board Chair and coordination with NAfME staff as to the ongoing activities of the Societies and Councils of the Association; creation of and requests for new symposia, events and virtual offerings directly related to the pedagogical interest of the music discipline; and creation of and requests for project-based relationships, collaborative ventures, and other joint undertakings directly related to the mission of NAfME (for review by the committee prior to action by the National Executive Board).

The PLPC is comprised of the Chairs (or designated surrogates of the Chairs) of the NAfME Societies, Program Advisory, Representative and Role-Based Councils, and up to (3) designated members of the Equity Committee. PLPC has at least two Chairs (currently three Tri-Chairs) appointed by the National President in conformity with the association’s appointment policies.

The committee meets regularly to discuss and prioritize education topics and issues to serve the on-going professional development needs of NAfME’s diverse membership and develop and vet professional learning community webinars and other virtual content for members, including for the NAfME Academy. One designated Chair also serves as Chair of the Biennial Music Research and Teacher Education National Conference.

Professional Learning and Partnerships Committee Policy

Committee Members

Sonja Williams, Tri-Chair
Retired Music Educator
Onslow County Schools
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Martha Gabel, Tri-Chair
Fine Arts Coordinator
Olathe Public Schools
Olathe, Kansas
Michael Stone, Tri-Chair
Visual and Performing Arts Coordinator
Bakersfield City School District
Bakersfield, California
Tanya R. Allen
Associate Professor of Music Education
Texas Southern University
Houston, Texas
Annamarie Bollino
Coordinator of Visual and Performing Arts
Stafford County Public Schools
Stafford, Virginia
Katrina Cox
Assistant Professor of Choral Music Education
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Omaha, Nebraska
Lisa Crawford
Composition Teacher
Los Angeles County High School for the Arts
Los Angeles, California
Elizabeth Fortune
Associate Director
Washington Music Educators Association
Seattle, Washington
Johnathan Hamiel
Director of Bands
Eastern Guilford High School
Gibsonville, North Carolina
Allyssa Jones
Director of Vocal Ensembles
University of South Florida
Tampa, Florida
Steve Kelly
Professor, Music Education
College of Music, Florida State University
Tallahassee, Florida
Rob Lyda
Music Teacher; Adjunct Instructor
Cary Woods Elementary; Auburn University
Auburn, Alabama
Christopher Perez
Director of Guitar Studies
Freedom High School
Orlando, Florida
Stephen Pickard
Band Director
Governor John Rogers High School; Dessie Evans Elementary School
Puyallup, Washington
Sean Powell
Associate Professor and Chair of Music Education
University of North Texas
Denton, Texas
Bethany Robinson
Jazz Band Program Director
Noblesville High Schools
Noblesville, Indiana
Karen Salvador
Assistant Professor of Music Education
Michigan State University
Wendy Sims
Director of Music Education
University of Missouri
Columbia, Missouri
Stefanie Weigand
Executive Director
Northern Vermont University
Johnson, Vermont
Music Inclusion Hub from elementary to college. Your digital hub for culturally responsive, intersectional, mixed media music resources.
Messiah University. Learn more. Earn your master's in music conducting or music education. Online. Flexible. Affordable.
University of the Arts