Council for Jazz Education

Mission: To support the members of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) and the jazz community by serving as a resource to improve the quality of teaching and research in jazz education at all levels.

The Council for Jazz Education presented a free webinar, “Jazz Is for Everybody: Student Voices Supporting an Inclusive Approach to Jazz Education” with Kelly Clingan and Elizabeth Fortune on June 30. View the program now. View Program Details.

Committee Members

Bethany Robinson (2022-2024)
Noblesville, IN

Eastern Division Representative
Paul Carr (2022-2024)
Silver Spring, MD

North Central Division Representative
Peter Sampson (2022-2023)
Whiteland, IN

Northwest Division Representative
Bill Leather (2022-2024)
Snoqualmie, WA
Southern Division Representative
Lenora Helm Hammonds (2021-2023)
Durham, NC

Southwestern Division Representative
Joseph Jefferson (2022-2024)
Atlanta, GA

Western Division Representative
Dee Spencer (2021-2023)
San Francisco, CA

Lonnie Davis (2022-2023)
Charlotte, NC

Roosevelt Griffin (2022-2023)
Matteson, IL

Lisa Linde (2022-2023)
Needham, MA

Chair-Elect appointed by President-Elect Confredo, June 2023

Terms begin on July 1 and end on June 30 of the years noted above.