Council for Jazz Education

Mission: To support the members of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) and the jazz community by serving as a resource to improve the quality of teaching and research in jazz education at all levels.

The Council for Jazz Education presented a free webinar, “Jazz Is for Everybody: Student Voices Supporting an Inclusive Approach to Jazz Education” with Kelly Clingan and Elizabeth Fortune on June 30. View the program now. View Program Details.

Committee Members

Chair 
Bethany Robinson (2022-2024)
Noblesville, IN
jazzcouncil@nafme.org

Eastern Division Representative
Paul Carr (2022-2024)
Silver Spring, MD
pcarr@jazzacademy.org

North Central Division Representative
Peter Sampson (2022-2023)
Whiteland, IN
pete@musixweb.com

Northwest Division Representative
Bill Leather (2022-2024)
Snoqualmie, WA
leatherw@svsd410.org
Southern Division Representative
Lenora Helm Hammonds (2021-2023)
Durham, NC
lhelm@nccu.edu

Southwestern Division Representative
Joseph Jefferson (2022-2024)
Atlanta, GA
jjefferson@semo.edu

Western Division Representative
Dee Spencer (2021-2023)
San Francisco, CA
deejazz@me.com

Member-at-Large
Lonnie Davis (2022-2023)
Charlotte, NC
ldavis@thejazzarts.org

Member-at-Large
Roosevelt Griffin (2022-2023)
Matteson, IL 
contact@rooseveltgriffin.com

Member-at-Large
Lisa Linde (2022-2023)
Needham, MA
lindel@newton.k12.ma.us

Chair-Elect
Chair-Elect appointed by President-Elect Confredo, June 2023

Terms begin on July 1 and end on June 30 of the years noted above.